What is the Grading system?

Kids grades start from 10th Kyu and have different belt colours.

After passing the 1st Dan grading, a student will wear a black belt and hakama (pleated pants) on top of the gi (uniform).

There are two gradings held in a year in each of the major dojo (training halls). Brown and black belt gradings are held during the Annual Spring Camp and must be overseen by Maruyama Sensei.

Grading requirements include Ki tests, techniques versus particular attacks, defense against multiple attacks and weapons kata for higher grades.

The Belt System
Grade Colour
6th kyu
5th kyu
4th kyu
3rd kyu
2nd kyu Brown
1st kyu Brown
1st dan Black
2nd dan Black
3rd dan Black
and so on